Home > Uncategorized > Social Software for Libraries

Social Software for Libraries

January 6th, 2010

Alliance Library System and TAP Information Services are pleased to announce a dynamic monthly series of online workshops you can enjoy right at your desktop on these hot topics.

The first conference on Social Software for Libraries is scheduled for Tuesday, February 9.  Meredith Farkas of Norwich University and columnist for American Libraries, will be the opening keynote speaker at 11:00 A.M. Eastern Time, 10:00 Central, 9:00 Mountain, and 8:00 Pacific.  She will address "Building Collaboration, Participation, and Community in Libraries."  Farkas will talk about how social software is opening up new opportunities for reaching out to patrons, providing library services, and transforming our websites.  Other speakers for this inspiring  day-long conference include Lauren Jensen talking about Facebook; Joe Murphy speaking on Twitter; Rhonda Trueman talking about Second Life; Beth Duttlinger on Technology Training Wheels; Rebecca Teasdale on YouTube; Alison Miller on tagging technologies; and Matt Gullett on sharing the story using social media.

A full informational flyer can be found at http://www.alliancelibrarysystem.com/TrendyTopics/workshop1February9.pdf.

More information on and registration for  these workshops can be found at http://www.alliancelibrarysystem.com/trendytopics.

Register at http://www.eventbee.com/view/trendytopics/event?eid=65537

Registration for librarians for the one day conference is $40; for students $30; and for groups $100.

For more information on these workshops please contact Lori Bell at ALS, lbell@alliancelibrarysystem.com or Tom Peters at TAP Information Services at tpeters@tapinformation.com.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
Comments are closed.